More than a dozen states file suit to stop emergency declaration

On Friday President Trump declared a national emergency in order to fund his wall on the southern border. Trump will use the emergency declaration to move around billions of dollars to pay for the wall.

Now, a number of states have filed a suit in order to stop the construction of wall on the border with Mexico. The lawsuit, filed Monday in San Francisco, challenges the constitutionality of Trump bypassing Congress for his wall.

The lawsuit reads in part “President Trump has veered the country toward a constitutional crisis of his own making. For years, President Trump has repeatedly stated his intention to build a wall across the United States-Mexico border.”

The states suing the Trump administration include:

  • New York
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • Oregon
  • Virginia





Leave a Reply